h1

Resolutions ’11

January 3, 2011

Through work, I have discovered SMART goals, which stands for Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic and Timely. Sure, I want to “be a better person” and “get in better shape,” but what does that mean? How do you know you’re a better person? Using these guidelines, I was able to clarify my resolutions for 2011. But unlike work, if I don’t show progress on these, the only disappointed person is me. Oh, and I still get paid. So without further ado:

1. Help others
.      a. Volunteer for 3 events
2. Improve myself
.      a. Perform 2 pull-ups
.      b. Drop a pant size (and keep it that way)
3. Do more of the things I like to do
.      a. Read 35 books
.      b. See 10 live music shows
.      c. See 15 new movies (at least 5 in a theater)

I’ll be tracking these at 43 Things, and crossposting here, to encourage myself.

What are YOUR resolutions for 2011?

4 comments

  1. Oh god, you have SMART goals too? THEY ARE EVERYWHERE!


    • But e, they are SO useful! I’m curious what kinds of goals you have at work.


  2. How about just dropping your pants?


    • I expect nothing less of you, Dan. Oh, how I’ve missed you.



Leave a Reply

