h1

More on Camp: spoilers within

July 25, 2010

The more I think about Camp, the angrier I get. Because it had such potential! Musical numbers! Devious girls! Cabins! Gays! And it just squandered it ALL.

Vlad is not a sympathetic character at all. There’s no mention or punishment for making out with the bitchy blond at the top of the movie, he randomly makes out with the hot black girl… because his friend did? That poor girl didn’t even have more than fifteen lines in the movie. And then Ellen and Michael just forgive him at the end? Dude is PSYCHOLOGICALLY DAMAGED. He is DANGEROOS.

And the original songs make NO SENSE. The numbers from the established plays are great – I, for one, am a great fan of Turkey Lurkey Time, seriously. The scene where Jill repeatedly vomits during “The Ladies Who Lunch” is actually brilliant and probably the best part of the movie. But when they veered into original works, I found my attention veering as well.

And I have no idea how the girl with her jaw wired shut would have sang that song at the end. The directors couldn’t have even heard her do it once in her wired state. And not only did the stage hand cut the wires, evidently, but got rid of ALL her orthodontic work. Having had braces removed, it’s not a quick and easy process, and it HURTS. Her parents should have been PISSED, because that probably cost them a lot of money. I know, I know, they shouldn’t have done it in the first place, but STILL.

On the upside, the movie introduced me to the hotness that is Steven Cutts, so I appreciate it for that.

But really, this just makes me want to watch Saved! and Wet Hot American Summer, instead.

Leave a Reply

