h1

How to take a new dance class

May 17, 2010

“Hip-hop can even be done by white girls in their thirties.”

How I did it: I’ve been dancing for ten years, but almost exclusively Flamenco, so I feel very comfortable in that. It was extremely difficult to get out of my comfort zone, but it was worth it! I did a lot of research, watching videos of local hip-hop/house/vogue teachers, to see their styles. I picked one who looked nice, fun, and with a style I could actually see myself doing. I took one class, and then signed up for the rest of the 8 week session. Seriously, it took about five classes before I felt relaxed and could look in the mirror and seem even somewhat like I knew what I was doing. I’m certainly no professional dancer now, but I can walk into the class with a smile on my face, knowing I won’t look a total fool.

Lessons & tips: Do research! Luckily, with youtube, you can check out a LOT of teachers before trying a class. And a lot of teachers/studios will let you take a class for free, just to see if it will be a good fit. If it’s not, if you’re not having fun, you have other options!

That’s the most important part – remember why you’re there. TO HAVE FUN. To learn something new!

Resources: youtube!
local dance studios (in SF, rhythm and motion is great, with a lot of different teachers and styles)

It took me 5 months.

It made me

Leave a Reply

