h1

8th Show of 2009: Iron & Wine

June 23, 2009

Iron & Wine, originally uploaded by maceelaine.

On May 7th, Jenn and I headed over to the Swedish American Hall to see Iron & Wine.

This was more or less the perfect week day show. I love the SAH, full of space and light and seats. The show started at 7:30 with the Magic Leaves, who sound like a hippy jam band but were amazing. Mellow and harmonic, I’d definitely like to see them again. By the time they finished their set, we could still see the fading sun out the skylights.

Iron & Wine was engaging, hilarious, and an amazing musician. It takes a special person to be able to fill an entire stage solo. I didn’t even take my eyes off him the whole night. I was only partially familiar with his work, and now I am a certified fan.

Because I am old, I was truly excited that the show was done by ten. It gave me plenty of time to go home and relax and ruminate on the awesomeness.

If you’re interested in hearing the concert, you can purchase it for cheap HERE.  Brilliant idea, by the way.

One comment

  1. Dani is jealous. 🙂



Leave a Reply

