h1

2nd Show of 2009: the Peninsula Symphony!

February 11, 2009

I’ve been batting this post around for a couple of weeks now, trying to decide what to say. In the interest of moving on, I’ll keep it brief.

On January 16th, I went with my grandmother to see the Peninsula Symphony at the Fox Theater in Redwood City. We’ve gone to many of their performances, as good friends of the family (my former piano teacher!) were on the board for many years. This particular concert was a focus on Spain.

Carolina Lugo’s Brisas de Espana dance troupe danced along with the first half. People went gaga for them. I found it distracting from the music itself, which was lovely and excellently played. The second half was the entirety of Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez, played wonderfully by Angel Romero. This was my grandfather’s favorite piece of music, played by his favorite guitarist, and so it was extra special for me. The playing was superb and passionate, and I could see from my fifth row seat that he felt the music, without looking TOO into it, which can look a bit silly (see here).

The entire program:
Program:
Manuel De Falla: Interlude and Dance from La Vida Brevé
Georges Bizet: Carmen Suite
Manuel De Falla: Three Cornered Hat Suite
Emmanuel Chabrier: España
Carolina Lugo’s Brisas de España Flamenco Dance Company
Joaquin Rodrigo: Concierto de Aranjuez
Angel Romero, guitar

Leave a Reply

