h1

Words, words, words

January 21, 2009

I’ve been hitting the gym at work. I haven’t talked about it much, for fear that if/when I stop, I’ll read my former glory and feel so, so bad about myself. But I’ve discovered a wonderful thing about cardio machines:

UNINTERRUPTED READING TIME

I don’t get to read as much as I’d like. The easiest solution would be to get off the freaking Internet and pick up a book, but I’ve gotten very bad at that in the last few years. However, when I’m huffing up a pretend hill on the treadmill, or pumping up a pretend hill on the exercise bike*, I can easily read several articles from a magazine. I’m terribly excited about the prospect of actually being up to date with my Newsweeks. Now, when Trevor mentions something from the latest issue, I can actually respond. Hallelujah.

Oh, also, I’ve lost five pounds.

* Obviously, I like going up hills. Actually, as an asthmatic, it’s an easy way to increase intensity without increasing speed.

5 comments

  1. I just fell in love with treadmills. Although, somehow I really enjoy the combination of walking on a treadmill (with a pretty nice incline percentage) + watching the Food Network at the same time. That is, if it’s one of those fancy schmancy cardio machines that have little TVs powered by my huffin and puffin.


  2. Hey, I think I found that five pounds. If you want them back, let me know…

    But, seriously…

    Congrats on the reading and the weight loss!


  3. We have two TVs in the gym, and they have a limited number of channels. Sometimes I plug in and listen, just to have some background noise, but for the most part, they don’t interest me (and there’s always too many people in there for me to feel comfortable changing the channel).

    Now, when I was in LA for umpteen million months a few years ago, I’d get bored of my room and go the tiny hotel gym, where I was usually the only one there and I’d watch Sex & the City and ride the bike for 45+ minutes. I lost good weight then.


  4. You need one of those new fangled ipods. I hear you can put actual TV shows and movies on there! 😉


  5. Reading? I use my gym time to watch two things: The Cartoon Network and whatever crappy show is on MTV.

    I burn calories and braincells!



Leave a Reply

