h1

Christmas Vacation, happy sigh.

January 7, 2009

Moon/venus, originally uploaded by maceelaine.

I’ve done a lot of traveling in my life, but it’s been almost exclusively with my family. So I had a slight bit of trepidation when Trevor and I decided to go visit my aunt and uncle. We’d been on long, long road trips before, but this involved a plane. I’m happy to report that all was well. In fact, I think it’s possible we got along better on this trip than we usually do in our normal lives. I think it was the sleep.

Because damn, we slept a lot. One of my favorite facets of vacation is not having to be up and ready to go at any particular time, and we took advantage of it. Even if we woke up semi-early (10?), we’d stay in bed and watch TV. So much reality television. Rotting our brains.

When we finally got our asses out of bed, we had access to my aunt’s car, and we drove all over that damn state. We hit the Museum of Science and Nature (and Fun!), walked Denver’s 16th street pedestrian mall, toodled around Boulder and had some amazing BBQ, went to the movies (twice!), walked and walked and walked, saw two frozen waterfalls, saw Red Rocks, ate Czech food, went to the Denver Art Museum*, played in the snow, drove for hours, froze our asses off in the mountains, were very comfortable otherwise. I didn’t take as many pictures as I thought I would.

Returning to work on Monday, I found my card key wouldn’t open the door, and my stomach just sank. Luckily I know the location of the jerryrigged door, so I could get in. I felt better when I could log into my computer, and it turned out that my card had just deactivated itself. And security could reactivate it from their desk! I didn’t even have to move. Hooray.

Now it’s Wednesday, and I kind of wish I was still in Denver.

One comment

  1. Still working on that list of things to do in Denver. Will get it to you in the next month or so.



Leave a Reply

