h1

Oh, there I am.

November 5, 2008

Leader of the pack, originally uploaded by Lupiebug.

I’m a bit amazed. Someone actually asked what happened to my blog!

As the performance approached, I was spending more and more time dancing, and less time doing… well, everything else. For example: I skipped a party I was looking forward to attending, because it was going to be my one chance that week to sit at home and do nothing. Of course, as I’m cooking dinner (another activity that was rare), I get a call from a fellow dancer, asking if we could run a particular piece she was having troubles with. So we danced from 9 – 11pm on a FRIDAY NIGHT.

The Sunday before the show, I finally got a day off and went to a wedding (congrats to Jeremy and Kristin, two of my favorite South Bay peeps!). Driving home, my throat felt a little sore, but I figured it was the dancing and drinking. Little did I know that it was a cold that would knock me out for almost two days straight, and even now, a week and a half later, still is lingering. This made rehearsals that last week a little difficult.

But it was all worth it. We sold out both the afternoon and the evening show. It was probably the best dancing I’ve done in my life. I didn’t make any major mistakes, and no one could even tell the minor ones.

I did, however, manage to rip something on almost every costume I wore (and there were plenty). The one shown above is the only one that escaped unharmed, but then again, it’s all street clothes that I wear all the time. I yanked a zipper out of it’s mooring, I pulled part of a ruffle off a skirt, I ripped a safety pin through my nice new shawl, and we won’t talk about how many times my butt got stuck in zippers. Embarrassing. There’s a fantastic difference between the chaos of backstage and the control onstage.

I’m so happy that those who came could make it, and I’m sad for those who couldn’t, be it financial, distance, weddings, or because we sold out*. There will be a DVD, and I will be inviting people to watch it with me. Hopefully it’ll capture the experience. And hopefully not capture the moment where I almost showed the crowd all my goodies by lifting my skirt too high.

Now it’s a Wednesday, and I’ve had th entire evening to myself. I cooked some, I cleaned some, I played hard with my cat. It is exactly what I wanted to do. I’ll miss rehearsal, and having that goal, but I look forward to spending quiet time alone, and fun time with my friends. I’m back!

* I am the least sad for this, because it’s pretty awesome.

4 comments

  1. You were absolutely fabulous that night, darling! I didn’t see any mistakes, minor or otherwise. Hugs!


  2. Can you recommend some good flamenco shows in San Francisco. Thanks


  3. Hey Flamenco dancer:
    There is a ton of flamenco in San Francisco. I’d recommend going to http://www.sfflamenco.com and looking at the upcoming listings. For a very informal show, head to the Thirsty Bear Sunday nights. There’s rotating performers, so it’s never the same show twice.


  4. […] Big Show. Covered here, but worth mentioning again. My dancing improved by leaps and bounds in 2008, and I think […]



Leave a Reply

