h1

2008: The year without – September!

September 4, 2008

In August, I gave up three things: desserts, nail biting, and text messaging. Honestly, text messaging wasn’t that hard. Sure, there were a few times where I just didn’t feel like talking to a live person, but I either just did it, or waited. There’s nothing that says you have to immediately call someone as soon as you’re able.  You can wait until you actually feel like talking to the person. Or, conversely, wait until you’re near a computer and simply email them.  I even turned off Dodgeball, and I don’t think I’m going to turn it back on. If I want my friends to know where I am, I’ll tell them myself. I hope they extend me the same courtesy.

The fingernail biting was difficult for the first few days. I hadn’t realized my tendency to stick my fingers in my mouth while I’m driving. I dug out an old charm a friend had given me: a simple amethyst circle tied to a circle of small beads. It was smooth, and cold, and I walked around for several days playing with that instead of my cuticles. Until I broke it. Oops. But by that point my nails had grown long enough that they looked good, so I was spurred on with the “oooh look pretty girl hands!” mentality. I’ve even had to cut them!

And then there were the sweets. I didn’t fare too well on that one, but I will say that when I did indulge, it was high quality products. For example, after walking into a pole, I made myself feel better with a freshly baked gingerbread cupcake from Miette. And it only happened a handful of times. I’m starting to really appreciate the quality over quantity. Sure, a Snicker’s bar sounds good in the middle of the afternoon, but I’d rather have this handful of nuts now and some olive oil gelato later. Olive oil gelato, by the way, is fantastic.

I hadn’t really thought about what I wanted to deny myself this month as I was distracted by a new development. My dance teacher announced that she wants us to mount an entire show for ourselves the first weekend of October! Of course, there will be multiple announcements as the date nears. But my first and worrisome concern is that I put on my tried-and-true costume and found it to be more than a little snug. So with firm resolve I announce that September is the Month Without These Extra Ten Pounds.

Of course that’s easier to say than to do, and just proclaiming that I’m going to loose that won’t make it happen. So how am I going to do this? I’m revisiting some of the things that have made me feel healthier in the past, and also thinking about quality vs quantity. No fried foods. No sugary snacks. No desserts unless they’re fancy and small. More vegetables. Curb the drinking*.

I anticipate our rehearsal schedule will be severe, but as a boost, I have borrowed my mother’s rowing machine. Last night I made it a total of eight minutes before being completely exhausted. Of course, it was eleven at night and it was dark and I couldn’t figure out how to adjust the tension, so I was probably cranking along way higher than I should. Not too much soreness, yet. I’m sure that’ll change.

* I was going to give it up completely, but between the birthdays of my best friend and my mother, I would have been miserable. And I wasn’t drinking on mother’s day, so there’s no way I can miss mom’s birthday. Besides, we’re going to St. George’s! So maybe once a week, and only one or two.

Leave a Reply

