h1

Two Mice, Two Days

August 22, 2008

Dead Mouse in Beer Bottle, originally uploaded by maceelaine.

I’ve already told the swimming mouse story, but I’ll tell it again, now that I have all the details.

Last Sunday, Trevor volunteered for a DIY film-making seminar which required him to be downtown at eight am. Being the sweet girlfriend that I am, I volunteered to drive him there, but I slept as he got ready, trying to grab more precious sleep moments*. In his half-awake haze, he dumped the entire contents of the french press in the garbage (I fail at training him not to put food in the trash. I’m trying, I swear). He also ate the rest of our Schezuan eggplant and tossed the empty container in, which still contained some sauce (fail two). I drove him to 111 Minna and came home.**

After a while, I heard the telltale shuffling. I was torn between hoping it was a ghost mouse and hoping it was a real, live dick mouse. I pulled open the trash, hoping to catch it in the bag, when I realized it was treading water. Or rather, treading coffee and eggplant sauce. It crawled up on the eggplant container and huddled there. It was so tiny, and so wet. Jack was circling around my legs so I picked him up and pointed. “See that? If you see one anywhere else, you attack!” He showed no interest, until the mouse moved, and then I could feel every muscle in his body tense up.

I pulled the bag out of the holder, tied it up, and threw it in the outside bin. Sorry tiny wet mouse, hope you find drier happier lands.

The very next evening, I was pulling some recycling out of the bin to take to outside, and a beer bottle caught my eye. I thought some paper or something had fallen in, but NO. It was another tiny wet mouse, but this time it was dead. I’m pretty sure I made some horrible noises and left it on the counter. Not knowing what else to do, I washed my hands five times, got my laptop, and played Boggle for an hour.

Eventually I got up the courage to take some pictures and take it outside, even though i really didn’t want to touch it. I realized, much later, laying in bed, that I had put it in the recycling. I looked for it later, but as it was no longer conveniently on top, I just let it go. Which, evidently could get me in trouble. Please don’t rat me out. (GET IT?)

So now the house is nice and mouse-free (I think), except for Jack’s toy mice, which he adores and carries around a good amount of the time. I can’t wait to see what happens when he finds a live one.

*Jack gets a little excited when we’re asleep. He either wants to give us love on our faces, or run back and forth as fast as he can. I miss sleeping. Seriously.
** I had three things I wanted to do that day, of which I did none, as the weather was dark and rainy, and everything was outside. I instead watched cartoons and napped with the cat.

2 comments

  1. I once left a coke bottle in my family’s mini-trailer over the winter. In the spring, my friend and I were playing in there, and she picked up the bottle, looked at it, and said: “What’s that?” When I saw the tail… I said it was a dead mouse. She screamed and flung the bottle, which crashed on the pavement, sending the little dead mouse flying.

    I’ve rinsed my bottles out ever since.


  2. I’m very glad that I didn’t throw the bottle, though that was my first gut reaction. I just calmly put it on the counter. I’m an independent kinda gal, but it’s times like these that it would be handy to have another person around the house.



Leave a Reply

