h1

Only five days left until AIDSwalk

July 15, 2008

I’m sure most of you, my readers, have gotten at LEAST two emails from me about my favorite charity event, the San Francisco AIDSwalk. It’s the only time of year I ask people I know for money, and though I’ve been pretty bad this year about returning the favor (procrastination, mostly, not apathy), it would mean a lot to me to get your donations.

Living where I live (not only in San Francisco, but on the edge of the Castro), AIDS is still a very prominent problem and concern. So far it’s avoidable, but not curable. I believe in the programs this walk supports. I believe they can make a difference. And I believe that you are willing to help.

Sure, my part is small. I just take a lovely walk through Golden Gate park with some of my favorite people. What’s impressive about the walk itself is how many people show up. That means something. It means that every person there wants to make a change for the community, for the country, for the world. And that moves me. I love looking at the pictures of the hordes of people. I get a little teary.

So, yes. Please support the San Francisco AIDS Foundation (and a host of other worthwhile groups) and make a donation. You can even donate through Paypal! If online isn’t your thing, contact me personally and we can work something out. Or, even better, you can come walk with us. It would mean a lot to me, and also to my community. Thank you.

One comment

  1. Ok ok ok, you got me. 🙂



Leave a Reply

