h1

See Mace Dance (6/6/08)

June 9, 2008

This is our performance for the Spring Performance Workshop at Rhythm and Motion. We put this together in about eight weeks, working out butts off. This is one of the hardest choreographies I’ve ever participated in, and I’m pretty proud. In case you can’t tell, I’m the only one with short hair. I’m the first one to walk in from the left, and once the footwork starts, I’m front and center.

It’s not traditional Flamenco by any means. The song style is called Martinete, which is a structure that’s not used a lot in shows. It’s not an intuitive beat, though it makes interesting combinations. I feel like I should add that we’re on boards because the marley floor in that studio makes all footwork sound completely dead.

Watch it while you can, as there are rumor it may be taken down, for fear of choreography theft. A subject that had never even crossed my mind until someone mentioned it yesterday.

3 comments

  1. Beautiful.

    Also, I was exhausted by the end of it… You are in great shape!


  2. hello, hi. you are my hero. this is beautiful stuffs, miss mace.


  3. Aw shucks, ladies. I hope you both can see me dance live one of these days.



Leave a Reply

