h1

4th Concert of 2008 – Margot and the Nuclear So and Sos

May 29, 2008

Ah spontaneity. The best kind of evening. I was driving home on a Friday evening, with no plans, thinking that I would just at home by my lonesome and work on the sweater that’s not going anywhere. And then a text message from Jenn changes all that.

“I have an extra ticket to a show. Wanna go?”

And I called her and said yes. Without even knowing who we were going to see. I just thought it would be fun to get out of the house, and I always have a fantastic time with Jenn, even if we’re just hanging out with my mother and watching television.

We started the evening at Fly Bar, managing to get there early enough to still catch the happy hour specials (half price pizzas! Yummy ones!). They’re a wine and beer place, and man, do they have a lot of beers. Delicious looking beers. My O’douls was so very sad looking. I can’t wait for June.

Heading over to the Independent, we realized we were early. Like, really early. Like, one of the first 15 people in the place early. But that also meant we got a coveted seat on the platform area, which we camped out on all night. Evidently we are old now, because I very much enjoyed being able to see the band without standing up. After the knee wreckage of the Dresden Dolls, it was nice.

I was very impressed with the first band up. Salt and Samovar is a New York band with just the right amount of revival and twang. I was a little confused by the keyboardist/back up singer, as she kept almost drowning out the lead vocals at times. Luckily she has a beautiful voice, but it was still distracting. I bought their CD (and t-shirt, they were having a deal where you could get both for $20), and it’s good, but I think I liked them live better. There’s an energy that’s missing in the recording.

And then the second act. Oh Nelly. I’m going to use the old adage “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything.” Let’s just say that it really brought the energy of the whole place down, and I’m not sure why he wasn’t on first, because he really couldn’t follow S’n’S. A warning to all you guys with guitars and no other band: don’t try to shush the audience if you’ve already lost them. It just annoys them. Get them back by being awesome.

Margot and the Nuclear So and So’s were not entirely what I had expected. I had heard their name bandied about for awhile, but never actually heard their music. I think I automatically think that band with AND in them implies jazz or swing. How did I get this idea? At any rate, their music is pleasing but a bit out there. It was certainly better than staying home and crocheting.

One comment

  1. If you won’t say it, I will: the second act sucked! But thanks for enduring it with me! Never before have I been to a show where they had to play “Hollerback Girl” to pump the crowd up after the opener.



Leave a Reply

