h1

Obi: September 1998 – April 2008

April 24, 2008

Obi, originally uploaded by maceelaine.

After a long illness that flummoxed the vet, Obi passed away this morning. He waited until my mother was awake, and with a final sigh, took his last breath. My mother buried him in the back yard, near the blackberry bushes, one of his favorite spots in the yard.

Obi came into my life via my college boyfriend, Kurt. He was several hours late to come visit me, and I was quite upset. In fact, I was still bitching him out when he handed me something to carry into the apartment. I was halfway to my door when I realized I was holding a cat carrier, and there was a tiny face staring at me through the door. After college, Obi went to live with my mother (mean landlords!), but he’s always been my cat.

Obi was the best cat I’ve ever owned. He was extremely personable. He wanted to sit on your lap and watch TV with you. He wanted to play all the time, and for the first two years would even fetch. He knew when you were sad and would sit with you. He loved Eggo waffles. He had a schedule in the morning, as he knew when everyone got up and when the neighbors walked by. He loved EVERYONE.

I got to sit with him for awhile last Friday. He was overweight for most of his adult life, so to see him wasted away was devastating to me. He crawled into my lap, which was so hard for him, because he was so weak, and put his head on my arm. I cried for probably 15 minutes straight. So much, at least, than when I was leaving, I heard my grandmother say from the other room, “Why is the cat wet?”

Mom pointed out that he was saying goodbye, but I wasn’t yet ready to hear that. And now there is a cat-shaped hole in my heart. Future cats have a high bar to cross now, Obes. Rest in peace.

12 comments

  1. I’m so sorry. He sounds like a wonderful, wonderful cat.


  2. I am so so sorry, Mace. It’s the worst, I know.


  3. Obi was sweet. I’m sorry, lovely. I’ll be sending big hugs all day. ::squeeze::


  4. Obi was a good cat and he will be missed by all of us, even the cat hating Grandmother. I would find them in the afternoon cuddled up in Mom’s reading chair both fast asleep with mouth agape quietly snoring.
    Obi’s morning schedule was go in and out of the house at least 10 times, if he was outside he knew something interesting was going on inside and if inside then the he knew he was missing something outside. Everyone in the neighborhood knew him and gave him a scrith, even the garbage men.
    I will miss him waiting in the driveway for me when I came home from work. I will miss him jumping on my stomach while watching tv. I will miss my Mom complaining about him while sneaking him treats. I will miss him waking me up with his legs of steel at 4:00am. I will miss his purr that could be heard around the world.
    I will not miss his fleas.


  5. Oh, I’m so sorry Mace. He sounds like a wonderful cat.


  6. 😦 Saying goodbye is hard. I’m sorry for your furry friend’s passing.


  7. It’s tough to lose someone that’s been with you so long. Be sure to have a stiff cocktail, and celebrate the good feline’s life. Obi would have wanted that way.


  8. Awww. I’m sorry Mace. Hope you feel better soon.


  9. Obi knows you loved him. He is waiting in the driveway of the afterlife for you when it’s your time to come home. ❤


  10. Aww Macer, I’m so sorry. Sounds like he lived a good long life.


  11. oh man, miss mace, I’m super sorry. you are in my thoughts, m’dear.


  12. I want to thank each of you for your kind words. Especially my mother, who’s been his primary caretaker for quite a while now. He was a fantastic boy and I’m glad we got 9+ years with him. It’s comforting to know that you all care. Thanks again.



Leave a Reply

