h1

On fruits and veggies

April 9, 2008

It’s a well known fact that fruits and vegetables are good for you. We hear it all the time: on televsion, radio, magazines, newspapers, the internet. I do what I can, but when I wander into my fridge, a sea of browns and whites stretch before me. The vegetables are tucked away in the freezer, cut into managable pieces and frozen for length. I crave fresh produce, but get paralyzed in the grocery store. When will I use this? How will I use this? Are these even any good? And I leave with a handful of oranges.

Being the Apartment Therapy groupie that I am, I’ve also been hearing more and more about CSAs. And being the daughter of a woman in the food business, I know that the push is to eat seasonally and locally. So, a CSA is really ideal, right? A couple of friends were suspicious – were you completely overpaying?

I did some detective work. I copied the list of a local CSA, and then went and found the equivalent prices at the local Safeway. What I found kind of suprised me.

Safeway
Asparagus 1 lb 2.99 $2.99
Mixed Greens 12 oz 4.99 $3.74
Chard 1 bunch 1.99 $1.99
Garlic 0.5 lb 0.5 $0.50
Spinach 0.5 lb 1.99 $1.99
Rosemary 1 bunch 1.99 $1.99
Danjou Pears 2 lbs 1.99 $3.98
Fennel Bulb 1 each 2.99 $2.99
Pink Lady Apples 2 lbs 2.99 $5.98
Carrots 1 bunch 0.79 $0.79
TOTAL $26.94

If you factor in that everything from Farm Fresh to You is organic and delivered, it’s barely more expensive than getting the produce at your local (kind of cheap) market. And I know, once it’s sitting there and begging to be eaten, I will eat it. I’m signing up right now!

2 comments

  1. we did a csa two years ago. it was really nice to get the fresh veggies, although not being able to choose what you got each week made it a little rough when you kept getting kale or turnips or radishes or something several weeks in a row. we have moved since then, and it turns out that local/organic produce is much harder to get here (they sell washington apples in june at the farmers market!) and if there was a csa, i would sign up in a flash. enjoy it!


  2. There is no doubt that a critical underpinning of a healthy diet is significant consumption of vegetables and fruit. Unfortunately, many adults do not like these fine foods – so we must make sure kids don’t develop these attitudes. Parents and teachers interested in getting kids to develop friendly feelings towards fruits and vegetables should take a look at a new book called “The ABC’s of Fruits and Vegetables and Beyond.” Out only a few months and already being bought in quantity for class use. Suited for kids of all ages as it is two books in one – children first learn their alphabet through produce poems and then go on to more mature activities. It is coauthored by best-selling food writer David Goldbeck (me) and Jim Henson writer Steve Charney. Say hello to us at HealthyHighways.com



Leave a Reply

