h1

Great Moments in Mace History: My 1st Mouse

March 27, 2008

We caught a mouse!, originally uploaded by maceelaine.

The signs of a mouse were unmistakable. The most obvious was the pellets it left behind all over my kitchen. But there were others, too. Paw prints in the butter, items half dragged out of the garbage, bite marks on anything left unattended overnight. Worst off all, I found out the hard way that mice like bacon fat. I was grossed out every other day.

I slowly mouse-proofed my kitchen. Everything went into sealable secondary containers. Bread was left in the fridge. Food scraps were taken directly to the compost bin, no stopping go, no $200. The only thing I was missing was actually catching the mouse itself.

I had been contemplating different methods, but hadn’t decided on the best way to eradicate this creature. I can be a little squeamish at times, so I wasn’t to fond with the idea of handling a dead mouse. Luckily for me, the mouse caught itself.

I have pull out garbage cans, and as I pulled them out one day, I saw movement. The mouse had been digging in the garbage, and was running away. Except that it hadn’t; my pull had knocked it off balance and into my almost empty recycling bin. Full disclosure: there was a certain amount of squealing. I’m not scared of much, but surprise me and there will be noise.

The squealing started again when I moved the bin. These were squeals of delight, though, as the mouse tried to jump out of the bin (the sides were too high). It was bouncing like a little furry ball. I was laughing so hard I actually had to sit down and catch my breath.

After much debate about what to do with the mouse, Trevor and I decided to let it go. Mostly because neither of us were brave enough to kill it. I went to the farthest corner of my property and flung it as best I could out of the bin.

Suddenly there was a huge movement slightly past where I had thrown the mouse. (more squealing) Having no idea what on earth there could be in the garden next door, I logically came to the conclusion that there was a snake and I should high tail it inside. I was going through the door when I realized Trevor was near shaking in laughter. Evidently he had thrown a stick at the mouse, to discourage it from coming back. He thought I had seen him throw it, but once he heard me freaking out about the imaginary snake he played along. He’s sweet that way.

Sadly, a few weeks later, the mouse trails were back. I’m not sure if it was a different mouse, but I like to think it was this same mouse, for some reason desperate to get back into my place.

This year, for Easter, the baskets were supposed to tell a story, if you knew one. I got a basket based on this story. See? It’s a recycling basket (in this case full of pre-recycling), with a big bronze mouse. Carly is awesome.
My Easter Basket

I actually have more mouse stories, but those will have to wait for another time.

One comment

  1. I want to catch that mouse then taxidermy it and make it wear a lil tuxedo!



Leave a Reply

