h1

Where everyone knows your name

March 11, 2008

I’m going to say something I didn’t dream I would say: I am enjoying my job.

It’s a slow, on-going process, but I’m learning. This week I actually got to formulate product! Sure, it was one of the easiest products they make, and sure, I have little pink spots all over my hands (it’s a pretty potent dye, that’s all I can say), but I feel entirely accomplished. I’m also currently running my HPLC all by my lonesome for the first time RIGHT NOW!

I’m adjusting to the new location. The people here are very nice, though they mostly keep to themselves. I’m so used to my old job, where everyone was in your face all the time. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVED the camaraderie at TF, but it’s also nice to just have some quiet time alone, especially when you need to read a billion documents to learn how to do your job. I’ve met about three dozen people so far, and I can remember about half their names. The other employees are good about introducing themselves and seem interested in me. Everyone seems to remember my name.

This has been an ongoing problem through-out my life. When you have an interesting, unusual name (and Mace definitely falls into that category), people remember it. (It also helps that I’m totally hot. Ha.) I definitely remember the names of the people in my group, but it’s attempting to branch out that’s getting me stuck. Everyone around here wears a badge, but it seems a little rude to stare at someone’s crotch in an attempt to catch a glimpse. I’ve taken to occasionally wandering around the cube area and peeking at people while they’re sitting at their desks, since it’s WAY easier to read the tag on the wall.

Again, like everything at this job, I just need to take a deep breath and be patient. It’ll come to me. Heck, I knew about 200 people’s names at my old job. It is, evidently, possible. In the mean time, people around here will here a lot of “Hello” (period).

One comment

  1. I love that you’re happy.



Leave a Reply

