h1

On Day 1

February 26, 2008
  1. My drive is so much shorter, I almost miss the exit because I expect to keep driving.
  2. My new cube is about 30% bigger than my last one. It’s much nicer in design and has a brand new computer in it, which includes a flat screen monitor on an arm. It is completely devoid of character as of yet.
  3. I have my own lab bench, but is unclear when I will actually use it, as I will be following around a coworker for the rest of the week. I am completely okay with this.
  4. I am enthusiastic and eager to start getting my hands dirty, but am also kind of scared shitless to do something completely new. Everyone here seems extremely knowledgeable about Organic Chemistry. I’m sure I’ll seem the same way soon enough. Patience is a virtue.
  5. There is a cafeteria on campus, but I have no cash and need some air, so I drive around Foster City, looking to break my own rules and have some fast food, but am unable to find any food. The Taco Bell I go to has a malfunctioning card reader, so I am saved. I manage to find a Subway before chewing off my own arm, and then complete my circle of the city, realizing that I had driven the wrong way and that EVERYTHING was right across the highway from where I started.
  6. I spend a lot of time reading. I now understand how obnoxious that was for all the people I trained before.
  7. It takes me 10 minutes to get to my mother’s house for dinner.

I’m sorry it wasn’t more exciting. It went well. I met a lot of people. I’m still excited about working here.

Leave a Reply

